More on ESXi…

Just an update on the ESXi Server I installed yesterday.  I currently am running three VM’s on it:  Intranet, SpiceWorks Server, and our Certificate Authority Server.  Things are working great!  I really like the Virtual Infrastructure Client.  If you are using ESX (the paid version), then you are already using this.

I mentioned in my post yesterday that there’s not a “VM Guest Management Console” at the server.  To add, delete, and/or otherwise manage virtual machines, you do it from the VI Client.  The ESXi Server has a 32mb foot print, so there are primarily just a few configuration settings.  Here are a few screen shots that I snapped with  my phone.  This is everything you see at the Server.  Click the pics for a larger view…

2 Responses

  1. So the burning question in my mind now that esxi is free is this: can I install this as the base OS on a laptop (assuming network and sata subsystems are compatible) and then topload a couple of OSes as VMs? AFAIK I can’t since there is no way to locally interact with the two hosted VMs (monitor, keyboard, etc). Please tell me I’m wrong, as this would be far superior to a dual-boot scenario or running one OS as a VM hosted in VM workstation on the other OS.

  2. Sorry, you are correct. There is no xwindows server in ESXi. You must connect to it from a workstation to access the VM’s. You might try Vmware Player.

Leave a Reply

