ESXi Successfully Installed!

I’m very happy to say that I have successfully installed ESXi.  So far, so good.  Here are the specs for the test server…

  • Dell PowerEdge 2850
  • Dual Xeon 3.0 Ghz processors
  • 4 GB RAM
  • Local Storage (5 disks in a RAID 5 with 1 hot spare = 260 GB storage)
  • Dual Intel NIC’s

I downloaded the ISO image from VMware’s website.  Upon installation, I proceeded to configure the ESX Server.  I first changed the “root” password.  I then changed my IP settings from DHCP to Static (including DNS settings, I manually added a host in DNS to point to the new server).  Once this was complete, I tested the Network Configurations and all tests passed.

ESXi does not have any type of “console management” to manage virtual machines at the server.  What I had to do was from my workstation, open a web page and browse to https://esx_server_name.  There I found a link to download the Virtual Infrastructure Client.  Once I installed the client, I was then able to log into my new ESXi server.  I used “root” for the user name, and the password I changed earlier.

So from there, I browsed through the VI Client, very cool.  Now it was time to move a server to the test ESXi server.  I like to use our Intranet server for these tests since it’s something that could be down temporarily if something happened.  Being that I have only used VMware server, I was used to moving the virtual files to another VMware server, and then clicking “File / Open” and browsing to the location.  Not the case with ESXi.  I thought  maybe I needed to import, but you can only import a Virtual Appliance.  OK, now what?  After a quick Google search, I found that what I needed to do is to download VMware Converter. I chose the VMware Server files as the source, and the new ESXi server as the Destination.

And that’s where I am…  I just checked and in less than 15 minutes, the conversion has finished moving the virtual server (20 GB in size) to the new ESXi Server.


Now it’s time to boot the converted Virtual Server on the ESXi Server and see how it works… So far so good.

Here a few other screen shots of the new ESXi from the VI Client. I’ll keep you updated as I continue to test it. If all goes well, I will be upgrading one of our main VMware Servers soon!  🙂

More Screen Shots:


Console popped up in a new window.







Very cool and exciting. I’m looking forward to further testing, and implementing ESXi into our network!

11 Responses

  1. Keep the posts coming on VMware… 🙂

  2. Hello, Mr. Ospina.

    I was searching the web to find an answer to my problem with ESXi running on a Dell PE 2800 and I found your blog.

    My problem is that only one processor is visible for the virtual machine (as like as shown in your 4th picture from down to top).

    As you are also testing as like I am doing, I send you a question and I would be very thank if you can help: may a virtual machine use all the processors instead only one at a time?

    Thanks in advance.

    Best regards.

    Ricardo Ventreschi da Costa Saraiva
    IT Manager – TRM Resinas Termoplásticas
    rvcsaraiva@gmail.com
    55 11 8222-2677

  3. I tested it, and I am able to add two processors to a virtual machine in ESXi using Dell PowerEdge 2850, without any trouble. When I boot the VM, I see two processors in the task manager.

  4. Are you able to add 64bit VMs on this 2850 ?

  5. I have not tested a 64 bit OS as of yet.

  6. Cool site, thanks for posting this info about the vi client I was searching all around on how to get it, I thought i might have to pay for it until i saw your sight.
    One question I have is do you need the vm converter if you are using network storage to keep the vm files? Or is it better to keep them localy?

  7. you can enable ssh on esxi if you uncomment the ssh line in /etc/inetd.conf (you apparently have to enable this while you’re physically at the server). while you’re at the server you press Alt+F1 and then type this: unsupported (then press enter) dunno how you restart inetd other than restarting the server.

  8. Mr Ospina,

    Thank you for your blog. I downloaded and installed the ESXi server, then I tried to move a VM onto the ESXi server by using the Converter per your blog but I can’t seem to get the VM onto the ESXi server. I’ve tried Workstations 4.5.x, 5.x and 6.x but no joy. After choosing the workstation type and clicking Next I get an “Unable to connect to the network share” error message. I checked the log on the server where Converter is located but found nothing helpful. Would you please post the web site where you found the information that helped you get your system working?

    Thank you for your time,

    Joe B

  9. Mr Ospina, I finally found what I was looking for. When creating a VM to move to my ESXi server I need to select “Local Machine” in the creation phase. I think I can take it from here.

    Thank you,

    Joe B

  10. Anyone reading this should be aware the client for esxi is for windows only. Very bad move for vmware, *especially considering esxi is RedHat Linux*. There are at last count 24 1/2 pages on the vmware forum of complaints. Dumb, dumb, dumb move.

  11. I have one question about your raid setup. How do you monitor the status of your raid drives? I do not see where esxi informs you of your raid status. The only thing i can think of is to reboot periodically to check the raid status at boot

Leave a Reply

