BES – Message Status: Service Blocked

Out of 11 Blackberry’s on our Blackberry Professional Server that I manage onsite at our church, I had trouble with two.  They both could not Activate wirelessly.  When I plugged in the cable, I could successfully activate via Desktop Manager. However, once I unplugged the cable, I could not send/receive e-mail, nor sync with Calendar, Contacts, Tasks, etc. When I tried to send an e-mail, I received a Message Status: Service Blocked.  When I called the service provider, the moment I told her I had a BES online, they said “I’m sorry, there’s nothing we can do since you have your server you’ll need to go through Blackberry.  I can help you wipe the phone as a troubleshooting step, but from there, I’ll have to transfer you to RIM.”  So they transfered me.  After spending almost an hour on hold, I spoke with RIM.  I gave him the PIN numbers of both Blackberry phones and sure enough, they said that neither phone had the service provisioned on their phones to allow them to connect to a Blackberry Enterprise Server.  He told me to call back the service provider and ask them to be sure that the phone has the correct plan to work with a Blackberry Enterprise Server.  After doing this, we found out that the phone had a service plan that allowed for Blackberry Internet Mail (not BES).  They upgraded the plan, reprovisioned the phone, and all is working.

So… if you are receiving  Message Status: Service Blocked, call your service provider and ask them to verify that your account is provisioned to work with a Blackberry Enterprise Server.  Once they change the plan and re-provision the account, you should be all set to Activate Wirelessly.

2 Responses

  1. this is a very useful post. it is a replica of what i’m presently going through.

    thanks

  2. Blackberry Error:
    “Status: Service Blocked”
    This error occurs when sending emails. The device is not able to receive emails. However, usually the device is able to get online via the Blackberry Browser.
    Cause:
    Incorrect Data Plan with Phone Carrier.
    If you connect to your company’s BES (Blackberry Enterprise Server), you will need to have a BES data plan NOT the BIS (Blackberry Internet Service) data plan.
    After the carrier switches the data plan to the appropriate BES one, you may need to go into Options > Advanced Options > Host Routing Tables and click and choose “Register Now” to update the devices routing tables.
    If you still cannot send or receive emails; you may need to rerun the Enterprise Activation.

Leave a Reply

